Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Fleischmann's Yeast

Recently I contacted ACH Food Inc, who are the manufacturer of Fleischmann's yeast. My question to them was whether or not their yeast is derived from or contains gluten.  Below is the response that I received. I thought I would share it for those who have celiac or a gluten sensitivity.






E-mail below:


Thanks for contacting ACH Food, Inc.

Fleischmann's yeast is gluten free.

Dry yeast is also free of soy, corn, dairy, egg, peanut and tree nuts. The yeast production facility  does not contain soy, dairy, egg, peanut or tree nuts, so cross contamination is not an issue.  

Fresh or cake yeast does contain corn (in the form of cornstarch).  Fresh yeast may be produced in the same facility as the dry yeast.  Diligent clean-out procedures are used to prevent cross contamination.

The Fleischmann's Bread Machine Mixes may contain any of the above allergens as it is produced in a different facility.

If you have further questions, please contact us.



Trish
Consumer Affairs
ACH Food, Inc.

000226200A

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Thanks for posting.

So, what IS it derived from then? Sounds almost evasive.